

Agenda	Topic	Decision
Item No		

Part A – Items considered in public

7	Report from Cabinet: Children's Social Care Bi-Annual Report	RESOLVED that the Children's Social Care Bi-Annual Report be noted.	
8	Report of the Mayor: Use of Special Urgency Provisions	RESOLVED that the recent use of the special urgency provisions as set out in paragraph 4 of the report be noted.	
9	Report of the Director of Legal: Changes to the Constitution - Mayoral Advisers	RESOLVED that amendments to the Constitution as set out in the Schedule of Changes, attached at Appendix 1 to the report, be approved.	
10	Standards Committee Annual Report 2015-16	RESOLVED that the Standards Committee's Annual Report for 2015/16, as attached at Appendix 1, be noted.	
11	Education	 Hackney Council notes: Hackney has been an innovative leader for over a decade in education, transforming the educational opportunities for our children in Hackney. Working pragmatically within the academy model introduced by the last Labour government, £0.5 billion has been invested in our schools through the Building Schools for the Future, the Academies' and other major school building programmes, with every secondary and special school now rebuilt or refurbished with better standards and significant improvements to the education environment in our primary school estate We celebrate the fantastic recent results achieved in Hackney's family of schools, with 67% of pupils getting 5 good A*-C GCSEs, including English and Math. 	

Agenda Item No	Topic	Decision
		 The Government's proposal for re-introducing the opening of new grammar schools will have serious implications for children and young people in Hackney. The proposal by the government to re-introduce the opening of new grammar schools will worsen social mobility and re-introduce the terrible segregation abolished by the creation of comprehensive education in the 1960s Labour government. We propose that the Council: Supports the 'inclusive education' campaign launched by our Mayor Philip Glanville and Deputy Mayor Anntoinette Bramble. Supports the Hackney approach of working with our local schools, teachers, parent governors and communities to continue building on the relationship between the council and communities in Hackney. Condemns proposed changes to the school national funding formula, which would impose a one-size-fits-all approach, stripping funding from inner city school and putting decades of improvements to London's school at risk. Backs an inclusive comprehensive education system, democratically accountable to local communities and protected from austerity.
		 Resists the forced academisation of all schools and the abolition of parent governors. Opposes the expansion of Grammar schools and selective education.

Agenda Item No	Topic	Decision
		Works with other councils, trade unions, parents and governor groups to oppose the provisions in the White paper. For: Many Against: 3 (Odze recorded vote) Abstentions: 2
12	Appointments to Committees and Commissions (standing item)	RESOLVED that the changes in membership of the following Committees and Commissions be approved, as set out below, for the 2016/17 Municipal Year:- The appointment of Kim Wright (Group Director Neighbourhoods and Housing) to the Health and Well Being Board be agreed. Appointments Committee: Mayor Philip Glanville Councillor Anntoinette Bramble Councillor Brian Bell Councillor Robert Chapman Councillor Christopher Kennedy Audit Committee: Councillor Brian Bell Councillor Robert Chapman Councillor Robert Chapman Councillor Robert Chapman Councillor Michelle Gregory Councillor Sem Moema Councillor Nick Sharman

Agenda Item No	Topic	Decision	
		Councillor Carole Williams	
		One Conservative Vacancy	
		Corporate Committee:	
		Councillor Will Brett Councillor Barry Buitekant Councillor Laura Bunt Councillor Mete Coban Councillor Susan Fajana-Thomas Councillor Katie Hanson Councillor Christopher Kennedy Councillor Sally Mulready Councillor M Can Ozsen Councillor Clare Potter Councillor Nick Sharman Councillor Vincent Stops Councillor Jessica Webb	
		Councillor Michael Levy Councillor Ian Sharer Licensing Committee:	
		Councillor Brian Bell Councillor Barry Buitekant Councillor Sophie Cameron	

Agenda Item No	Topic	Decision
		Councillor Sade Etti Councillor Margaret Gordon Councillor Christopher Kennedy Councillor Richard Lufkin Councillor Sharon Patrick Councillor James Peters Councillor Emma Plouviez Councillor Ian Rathbone Councillor Caroline Selman Councillor Peter Snell Councillor Steinberger Councillor Jacobson
		Pensions Committee:
		Councillor Kam Adams Councillor Rob Chapman Councillor Feryal Demirci Councillor Michael Desmond Councillor Patrick Moule Councillor Geoff Taylor
		One Liberal Democrat Vacancy
		Planning Sub-Committee:
		Councillor Will Brett

Agenda Item No	Topic	Decision
		Councillor Barry Buitekant Councillor Susan Fajana-Thomas
		Councillor Katie Hanson
		Councillor Christopher Kennedy Councillor M Can Ozsen
		Councillor Vincent Stops
		Councillor Michael Levy
		Councillor Ian Sharer
		Substitutes:
		Councillor Brian Bell Councillor Laura Bunt
		Councillor Michael Desmond Councillor Sem Moema
		Councillor Clare Potter
		Councillor Dawood Akhoon
		Councillor Abraham Jacobson Councillor Benzion Papier
		Standards Committee:
		Councillor Anntoinette Bramble Councillor Katie Hanson
		Councillor Ben Hayhurst
		Councillor Clayeon McKenzie Councillor Sally Mulready

Agenda Item No	Topic	Decision
		Councillor Clare Potter Councillor Jess Webb
		One Conservative Vacancy One Liberal Democrat Vacancy
		Scrutiny Commissions
		Children and Young People Scrutiny Commission:
		Councillor Sophie Cameron Councillor Sophie Conway Councillor Tom Ebbutt Councillor Margaret Gordon Councillor Christopher Kennedy Councillor Patrick Moule Councillor M Can Ozsen Councillor Tom Rahilly Councillor Rosemary Sales
		One Labour Vacancy One Conservative Vacancy Councillor Abraham Jacobson
		Community Safety and Social Inclusion Scrutiny Commission:
		Councillor Kam Adams Councillor Soraya Adejare

Agenda Item No	Topic	Decision
		Councillor Sophie Cameron Councillor Mete Coban
		Councillor Sade Etti Councillor Richard Lufkin
		One Liberal Democrat Vacancy
		Governance and Resources Scrutiny Commission:
		Councillor Susan Fajana-Thomas Councillor Ned Hercock Councillor Deniz Oguzkanli Councillor James Peters Councillor Anna-Joy Rickard Councillor Nick Sharman
		One Conservative Vacancy
		Health in Hackney Scrutiny Commission:
		Councillor Ben Hayhurst Councillor Ann Munn Councillor Sharon Patrick Councillor James Peters Councillor Clare Potter Councillor Rosemary Sales Councillor Peter Snell

Agenda Item No	Topic	Decision	
		One Conservative Vacancy	
		Living in Hackney Scrutiny Commission:	
		Councillor Kam Adams Councillor Will Brett Councillor Michelle Gregory Councillor Sharon Patrick Councillor Ian Rathbone Councillor Vincent Stops	
		One Conservative Vacancy	